Preneurs Helping Preneurs Get Noticed

Reply To: Who else is a coach?

Home Page Forums Ask Anything Who else is a coach? Reply To: Who else is a coach?

Mark Rhodes
Participant

I am a coach, Claire.

My ideal client is a doctor who wants to excel in functional medicine with a focus on hormones. My secondary set of clients finds me somehow: they are patients who have exhausted all conventional and alternative healthcare options AND are still sick.

How have I run my business? It’s not been completely online nor automatic. Besides website, it has required phone calls and mailing of forms, test kits, and supplements.

1. I’ve been a one-on-one coach for doctors since 1997. In its simplest form, they send me their patients’ test results, and I help them over the phone, keeping in mind patient health histories and goals.

The most complex form goes something like this: I give a webinar on a topic and invite doctors to apply for coaching via an online form. We talk on the phone to confirm we are a good match. Then, I have them pay up front and sign a non-disclosure form. Each week for the next 7-8 weeks, I present a video intro of the week’s theme, then give them homework. Homework consists of case studies (health histories and test results) of 5-8 real patients. The doctors have 2-3 days to do their homework, then we go over them via video conference. As a (priceless) bonus, I give them access to me for help with their own future patients.

2. The part of the business that deals with patients began in 2001 and takes a different route. The first short call from the patient comes out of the blue usually and is no charge. “Short” is relative. Ideally, 15-20 minutes should do it to see if we are a good match. However, sometimes it goes much longer. It’s not unusual to have a lot of tears.