Preneurs Helping Preneurs Get Noticed

How to Get Customers without a List

Home Page Forums Ask Anything How to Get Customers without a List

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Bruce Hoag 6 years, 5 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Bruce Hoag
    Participant

Among the most popular ways to get customers online is to build a list and market to those who are on it via a daily email.

This is not the only way to do it.

For example, I know that someone people email their LinkedIn connections and get business that way.

It could be that that approach is especially effective for only certain types of business.

I’m a writer, and I know of other writers who do this.

Have any of you built your business without a list, and if so, how did you do it?

Bruce Hoag PhD
    The Internet Marketing Psychologist
    The Mindful Writer - for deep and persuasive copy

• Author
    Replies

Don Sturgill
    Participant

Even if you initiate contact via a direct approach, Bruce, you still want a list of those efforts. You don’t have to email them daily, or even monthly, but it’s sure handy to have that Rolodex of contacts … that’s still a list.

To your question, attending events is an excellent way to meet prospects. For a writer, guest blogging is powerful. Anything you do to initiate conversation and build your brand is valuable.

1 user thanked author for this post.

Bruce Hoag
    Participant

Thanks for your feedback, Don.

Bruce Hoag PhD

Bruce Hoag
    Participant

The kind of list I was referring to, Don, was one that consisted of subscribers.

I should have clarified that.

Bruce Hoag PhD

Sean Mize
    Keymaster

Bruce

think about it . . if someone does a broadcast of some kind at linked in or facebook to their contacts . . that’s really a list . . a list hosted at facebook or linkedin.

now, I get that what you “mean” is a subscriber list on an autoresponder format!